Oklahoma Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Oklahomans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Oklahoma’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Laws
According to the Oklahoma Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Oklahoma’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Oklahoma vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident; and
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
Oklahoma Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Oklahoma, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Oklahoma include: suspension of driving privileges and fines and fees of $100-200.
Oklahoma DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Oklahoma DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Oklahoma DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. First offense DUI arrest in Oklahoma initiates an impending license suspension of 30 days, a 10 day minimum to 1 year incarceration and fines of up to $1,300.
Oklahoma Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Oklahoma currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Oklahoma also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $100.
Oklahoma SR-22 Insurance Documents
Oklahoma SR-22 insurance documents are not required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance, however, they can be required if you have an SR-22 filing in another state and move to Oklahoma. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with your former state, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents with your former state for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Oklahoma
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Sooner State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent