Alabama Car Insurance
From Birmingham to Mobile, we help you get the Alabama car insurance limits you need to get on the road fast. At Good2Go Auto Insurance,® we get you driving legal for less.
Before you buy, it’s important to know Alabama’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Alabama Car Insurance Laws
According to the Alabama Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division, “minimum liability insurance is required on all self-propelled motor vehicles” including: automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, pickups, and motor homes. The Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law is meant to protect all parties who may be involved in a motor vehicle accident. Uninsured drivers are prohibited from registering, maintaining, or operating a motor vehicle unless it has the minimum liability insurance policy.
The state requires drivers to have the following levels of coverage:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident
- $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
- $25,000 for damage to the property of another person
Drivers may also purchase additional coverage, like uninsured motorist coverage, but these are not required by the state.
In addition, as of January 1, 2013, law enforcement officers will be utilizing the State of Alabama Online Insurance Verification System, which will allow officers to immediately verify the insurance status of a vehicle. Before you think about getting behind the wheel without auto insurance, remember: Big Brother is always watching.
Alabama Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Alabama, if you are a vehicle owner or operator convicted of violating the Mandatory Liability Insurance Law, the penalties are:
- Fines up to $500 for the first violation and up to $1,000 for any subsequent violations
- Driver’s license suspension for six months
- Vehicle impoundment
In addition to the above penalties, if a vehicle is registered or operated without liability insurance, your registration will be suspended and you will be subject to the following:
- First violation: $200 reinstatement fee for registration and driver’s license
- Subsequent violations: $400 reinstatement fee and a mandatory four month registration suspension
- Evidence of current insurance must also be provided in order to reinstate the vehicle registration
Alabama DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Drunk driving is a serious offense that can cost you your car, your freedom and your life. In Alabama, the legal limit of alcohol is a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of 0.08. If you are caught driving over this limit, then the penalties for a DUI/DWI could include suspension of your driver’s license and registration, heavy fines, required attendance at DUI school, and prison time.
Alabama DUI penalties are determined by driver’s age and prior DUI offenses. If you have no prior DUI convictions, you could face:
- 90 day driver’s license suspension
- Fines from $500 up to $2,000
- Fine of $100 for Driver Trust Fund
- Mandatory DUI school attendance
- Up to 1 year in prison
Multiple DUI/DWI offenses can result in a maximum of:
- 5 year driver license revocation
- Maximum $10,000 fine
- Fine of $100 for Driver Trust Fund
- Up to 10 years in prison
For more information on Alabama’s DUI/DWI penalties, visit the Alabama Department of Public Safety.
Alabama Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
In the state of Alabama, there is no overall cell phone ban. However, it’s a primary offense for novice drivers with an Intermediate License or who have been driving for less than six months if they are caught talking on the phone while driving.
The Alabama Anti-Text Law was put into effect in August 2012 and prohibits any driver from using any wireless device to send, read or write text messages or emails while a vehicle is in motion. The driving while texting penalty in Alabama is a primary offense which means you will be pulled over and may be subject to the following penalties:
- $25 fine for the first offense, $50 fine for the second offense, and a $75 fine for subsequent offenses
- Two (2) points on your driving record for each offense
- Suspension of license for 60 days if you have more than 12 points in two (2) years
Alabama SR-22 Insurance Documents
In Alabama, you are required to file SR-22 insurance documents for 3 years if your driver’s license was suspended or revoked or in the event that you gave false proof of insurance. SR-22 insurance documents prove that you are carrying the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state. Fortunately, Good2Go provides electronic filing of SR-22 insurance documents to the Alabama Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division for you.
Cheap Car Insurance in Alabama
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in the Yellowhammer State, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹ Start Your Free Alabama car insurance quote today and drive legal for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent