Car Insurance Laws & Requirements by State
Good2Go Auto Insurance® is working hard to bring you the best rates on minimum limits auto insurance in every state across the U.S. As you know, auto insurance requirements vary by state. Every state except Florida, New Jersey and New Hampshire, requires drivers to have liability coverage, so it’s important to make sure your policy meets those standards.
Select a City or State from the List Below:
Minimum Limits Car Insurance
“Minimum limits car insurance” means the lowest amount of bodily injury and property damage liability coverage required by a state, for the protection of a third party caused by an insured’s negligence. While drivers should carry sufficient coverage to protect their assets, state minimum limits levels for bodily injury liability coverage ranges from $10,000 to $100,000 per person. Minimum property damage liability coverage ranges from $5,000 to $50,000 per occurrence.
Some states may require you to purchase additional insurance such as uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). Depending on your vehicle, you may also want to consider purchasing collision and comprehensive car insurance coverage. This type of coverage protects your car from damages, theft, and unexpected events such as natural disasters. If you are caught driving without car insurance, some common penalties include:
· Suspension of your driver’s license and registration
· Fines and reinstatement fees
· A SR-22 insurance filing, which has a cost
· Impoundment of your vehicle
· Community service
· Jail time
If you’re looking for information on your state’s minimum car insurance laws and requirements, be sure to visit one of the state pages above.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"Good2Go Auto Insurance customer service representatives are the best. I had a small fender-bender, and with their help, I received a check in just a few days. I had my car repaired and was back on the road in no time."
- Linda from New Jersey