Alaska Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Alaskans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Alaska’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Alaska Car Insurance Laws
According to the Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles, Alaska’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Alaska vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injury or death
- $25,000 for property damage
Insurance is not required in certain rural areas where registration is not required. See this page for a list of such areas.
However, a driver that has received a ticket for a violation of 6 points or more within the last 5 years must have liability insurance.
Alaska Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Failure to have the proper insurance may result in a suspension of a driver’s license.
Proof of motor vehicle liability insurance must be in the person’s possession at all times when driving a motor vehicle, and they must present the proof for inspection upon demand of a police officer or other authorized representative of the Department of Public Safety.
Your vehicle may be impounded in the Municipality of Anchorage if you do not have proof of insurance. In this case, you would need to contact the Anchorage Police Department for procedures on obtaining your vehicle.
Alaska DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
First DUI Offense:
- Jail- 72 hours to one year in jail
- Fines of $250-5,000
- A DUI education problem
- 24 hours of community service
- Mandatory license suspension for not less than ninety (90) days
It should be noted that the State of Alaska estimates the total cost associated with an average first offense DWI to be approximately $22,740.
In addition to the penalties listed above, a driver convicted of a DUI in Alaska may impose the following:
- While the convicted driver is incarcerated or as a condition of probation or parole be required to take medication that is intended to prevent the consumption of alcohol.
- During probation, the offender may not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. All costs associated with the installation and maintenance of this device will be paid by the convicted DUI offender.
- The court may order the screening, drug and alcohol evaluation, referral, and program requirements of an alcohol safety action program as a condition of probation or parole.
Alaska Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
Alaska bans texting while driving for all drivers but there is no ban on cell phone use.
Alaska SR-22 Insurance Documents
Depending on your situation, an SR22 insurance policy may be necessary to have your driver’s license reinstated. In Alaska, you must carry an SR22 insurance policy for 3 years after the last day of your revocation.
Affordable Car Insurance in Alaska
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in Alaska, the Last Frontier, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Insurance, Inc. for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent