Driving on the roads of “the natural state” can be beautiful, but drivers always need to keep an eye out for various modes of transportation. From 18 wheelers to motorbikes, accidents can happen.
Failure to provide proof of car insurance can result in fines, or even jail time.
The penalties for driving without car insurance in Arkansas include: Mandatory fines for first offense range from $50 to $250 for the first offense, $250 to $500 for the second offense and $500 to $1,000 for the third offense.
A driver who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense may be incarcerated up to one year in the county jail.
According to the Arkansas Insurance Department, Arkansas‘s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Arkansas vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements
Arkansas DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence.
First Arkansas DUI:
Second Arkansas DUI within 5 years:
Third Arkansas DUI within 5 years:
Fourth Arkansas DUI within 5 years (Felony):
Fifth or Subsequent Arkansas DUI within 5 years (Felony):
Arkansas bans texting for all drivers. It also bans cell phone use for drivers aged 18-20. This use can be the reason for a traffic stop.
Arkansas SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the Office of Driver Services, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Arkansas for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Do you live in one of Arkansas’s 3 largest cities and are looking towards having cheap car insurance? You can find city-related insurance information for Fayetteville, Fort Smith, and Little Rock below.
The average annual cost of car insurance in Arkansas is $2,213 per year.
Get behind the wheel with Good2Go Insurance today.
More information on additional costs and frequently asked questions for purchasing a new policy can be found on our commonly asked questions page.