California Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Californians find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know California’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
California Car Insurance Laws
California’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. California vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for liability insurance. In California, the minimum requirements for car insurance are as follows: $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 for liability, and $5,000 for property damage. Low income drivers who qualify for California’s Automobile Assigned Risk Plan have lower limits of $10,000, $20,000, and $3,000. Unlike some states, California does not require drivers to purchase additional coverage for uninsured or underinsured drivers who may also be involved in your accident.
California Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance
In the state of California, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. If the driver does not, and cannot provide proof of new insurance within 45 days, a one-year license suspension is automatic. In order to reinstate the vehicle registration, the driver must provide proof of insurance and pay a fee.
Driving a car while uninsured risks severe fines as well as license suspension.
California DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
California DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Minimum punishments for a misdemeanor first conviction are as follows:
- Fines of roughly $2,000.
- 48-hour jail sentence or a 90-day license restriction
- Attendance and completion an alcohol-treatment program
- Loss of your driver’s license for at least 30 days, followed a potential additional five-month restriction
Maximum penalties for a misdemeanor first DUI conviction in California nearly $4,000 in fines, six months’ imprisonment in the county jail, a six-month license suspension, an interlock device and vehicle impoundment.
California Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws
California prohibits all drivers from using handheld wireless phones or cell phones and prohibit drivers under 18 from using hands-free cell phones. California also bans texting while driving. These are primary enforcement laws, meaning that police can pull a driver over for violating them.
California SR-22 Insurance Documents
California SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance and/or in some instances, a DUI. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of California for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in California
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in California from Diego to the Bay, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Insurance, Inc. for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent