Colorado Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Coloradans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Colorado’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Colorado Car Insurance Laws
According to the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Colorado’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Colorado vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements. The minimum amount of liability insurance required by Colorado law is as follows:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury;
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and
$15,000 per accident for property damage.
Additional coverage, such as medical payment coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, comprehensive and collision are available, but not required.
Colorado Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Colorado, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Colorado include:
- Four points on your license;
- $500 fine for a first suspense and license suspension;
- $1,000 fine for a second offense and license suspension for four months;
- $1,000 fine for a third offense and license suspension for eight months;
Colorado DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Colorado has made DUI enforcement a top priority with a commitment to reducing alcohol-related injuries and deaths. Police and sheriff’s agencies statewide, the Colorado State Patrol and Colorado State Parks participate in aggressive and intensive enforcement efforts, including sobriety checkpoints, increased numbers of DUI officers on the road, and heavy saturation patrols in problem-areas.
Colorado law prohibits a person from driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or while the person’s ability to drive is impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Colorado law allows for a DUI conviction of a driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, regardless of whether driving ability was actually impaired.
Drivers in Colorado are also subject to an “implied consent” law, which allows the state to convict a driver who refuses a breathalyzer or blood test when suspected of a DUI. Penalties for violating this law are generally a 1-2 year revocation of driving privileges.
The punishments for a DUI in Colorado are:
For a DUI First Offense, 5 days to a year jail time, fines up to $1,000 and up to 96 hours of public service;
For a DUI Second Offense, 90 days to a year with a mandatory 10 day sentence, fines up to $1,500 and up to 120 hours of public service
Colorado Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Colorado currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Violators can be fined $50.00 plus a $6.00 surcharge for a First Offense; $100.00 plus a $6.00 surcharge for a Second Offense. Colorado also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $100.
Colorado’s cell phone and texting laws are “primary” laws. An officer can pull you over for the offense without witnessing some other violation.
Colorado SR-22 Insurance Documents
Colorado SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. You may be required to file an SR22 when you reinstate from specific suspensions and/or revocations. The SR22 requires the insurance company to notify the DMV of any policy cancellation. The SR22 form is not an insurance policy.
If you don’t keep the SR22 current, the insurance company will notify the Motor Vehicle Division that the SR22 is no longer in effect, but is still required. Your driver’s license will be suspended for that reason alone.
An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Colorado for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Centennial State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent