Connecticut Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® aims to get you the minimum limits car insurance you need in Connecticut so you can get on the road for less.¹ But, it’s important for you to know Connecticut’s minimum limits auto insurance laws so you can make sure you’re getting the insurance you need.
Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
Under Connecticut’s car insurance laws, drivers are required to have auto insurance at all times on all registered vehicles. Connecticut minimum coverage auto insurance requirements are as follows:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person in an accident
- $50,000 for all bodily injuries to all persons in an accident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
Drivers also must purchase additional coverage for bodily injuries to uninsured or underinsured motorists with limits at least $20,000 (for one person)/$40,000 (more than one person in an accident) unless rejected in writing.
Connecticut Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving in Connecticut without car insurance or during a lapse in coverage, you will receive a warning notice which gives you the chance to enter into a consent agreement, obtain insurance and pay a fine of $200. If you fail to comply with the notice, your registration will be suspended and you will lose all privileges to renew or register any other motor vehicle. In order to lift the suspension, you will need to pay an uninsured motorist civil penalty of $200 and provide proof of insurance to your DMV.
Connecticut DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties – Effective January 1, 2012
Connecticut’s DUI laws state that anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at least 0.08 is considered under the influence, and therefore subject to a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense. If you refuse to take a chemical test when pulled over for a DUI, you will be subject to 6-month license suspension and spend up to 2 days in jail. Penalties for drivers (age 21 and older) first drunk driving offense are as follows:
- License suspension of 45 days, followed by one year driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock
- One year jail sentence, 30 days of which cannot be suspended
- Fine from $500 to $1,000
- Vehicle towed at your expense
For more information on other Connecticut DUI laws and penalties, check out the state’s page.
Connecticut Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
Connecticut law bans the use of hand-held devices while driving. There is also a ban on texting while driving in Connecticut. Talking or texting on a cell phone is a primary offense in the state of Connecticut and violators may be fined $125.
Connecticut SR-22 Insurance Documents
An SR-22 form is a state or court ordered document that provides proof that a driver is carrying the minimum amount of car insurance for their state. In Connecticut, SR-22 insurance documents may be required to prove that a driver’s liability insurance is in effect.
Cheap Car Insurance in Connecticut
Looking for cheap car insurance in Connecticut? Start Your Free Connecticut Quote Online. We’ll get you driving legal for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent