If you live in Georgia and happen to get into an accident while driving, your southern charm won’t help escape fines if you don’t provide proper insurance.
Failure to provide proper insurance can result in fines or a suspension on your driver’s license.
If you are caught driving without car insurance in the state of Georgia, the Georgia Department of Revenue is required by law to suspend and/or revoke the registration of your vehicle. To cancel the suspension, you must pay the $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee. This penalty applies for a first-time occurrence. It’s important to remember that driving a vehicle with a cancelled, suspended or revoked registration in Georgia is a misdemeanor.
Penalties for a second occurrence of suspended registration include:
Penalties for a third or subsequent occurrence of suspended registration include:
According to Georgia‘s Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner, all Georgia residents must have automobile liability insurance for all registered vehicles in order to drive on the roads and highways. Drivers must have at least the minimum requirements under Georgia law that includes:
In addition to the minimum limit’s levels above, drivers can also purchase comprehensive or collision coverage to protect their vehicle from additional damages such as theft, vandalism, fire and inclement weather. All these types of coverage are optional and not required by Georgia law.
Georgia has strict laws regarding drinking and driving. The BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level for a DUI for persons under 21 is 0.02, while the level for adults is 0.08. The penalties for a DUI/DWI can result in fines, community services, loss of driving privileges and even jail time. Here are additional penalties for driving under the influence according to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety:
Second Offense (Within Five Years of First Offense)
Third Offense (Within Five Years of Second Offense)
In the state of Georgia, using a mobile device for both texting and calling while driving is prohibited
The state of Georgia uses the SR-22 insurance document to help drivers reinstate their suspended licenses. An SR-22 form may be required if you are a high-risk driver, have DUI convictions or have serious traffic violations. An SR-22 verifies a driver’s financial responsibility, but it is not an insurance policy. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Georgia.
Do you live in one of Georgia’s 3 largest cities and are looking towards having cheap car insurance? You can find city-related insurance information for Columbus, Augusta, and Atlanta below.
The average annual cost of car insurance in Georgia is $2,619 per year.
Get behind the wheel with Good2Go Insurance today.
More information on additional costs and frequently asked questions for purchasing a new policy can be found on our commonly asked questions page.