Hawaii Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Hawaiians find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Hawaii’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Hawaii Car Insurance Laws
According to the Hawaii Motor Vehicle and Licensing Division, Hawaii’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Hawaii vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability
- $10,000 personal injury protection
Hawaii Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Hawaii, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Hawaii include
Fines of $500-$1,500;
Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of three months if it is your first conviction and one year for subsequent violations;
Impoundment of vehicle;
And Jail time.
Hawaii DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Hawaii DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Hawaii DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Hawaii and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to automatic license suspension for a first offense for up to one year. Penalties for a DUI first offense range from fines of $150 to $1,000 and a 90 day license suspension.
Hawaii Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Hawaii bans “hands on” cell phone use for all drivers. The updated law does allow for the use of hands-free devices by drivers who are at least 18. Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any type of mobile electronic devices, including hands-free ones. Violators can be fined $250. Text messaging is prohibited while driving in Hawaii.
Hawaii SR-22 Insurance Documents
Hawaii SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the Licensing Division, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Hawaii for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Hawaii
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Aloha State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Insurance, Inc. for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent