Photograph of Idaho

Get an Idaho Car Insurance Quote

Please enter a ZIP Code.
Retrieve a Quote
Retrieve a Quote

Idaho Car Insurance

Stop being a couch potato and get on the road with Good2GoInsurance, Inc.!

If you fail to provide proper car insurance may result in a suspension of your driver’s license, or worse.


Idaho Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance

In the state of Idaho, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Idaho include fines of $75 for the first offense, up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses.

Idaho Car Insurance Laws

According to the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles, Idaho‘s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Idaho vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:

  • $25,000 for injury or death of one person,
  • $50,000 for injury or death to two or more people, and
  • $15,000 for property damage

Idaho DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties

Idaho DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Idaho DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Idaho and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to the following penalties:

First offense:

  • Misdemeanor violation
  • Jail: up to 6 months
  • Fines: up to $1,000
  • License suspension: 90 to 180 days

Second offense:

  • Misdemeanor violation
  • Jail: 10 days mandatory, up to 1 year
  • Fines: up to $2,000
  • License suspension: 1-year mandatory after release from confinement
  • Ignition interlock mandatory

Third offense:

  • Felony violation
  • Jail: 30 days mandatory, up to 5 years
  • Fines: up to $5,000
  • License suspension: Up to 5 years, 1-year mandatory after release from confinement
  • Ignition interlock mandatory

Idaho Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws

The state of Idaho currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, Idaho has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $85.

Idaho SR-22 Insurance Documents

Idaho SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Idaho for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.

sunrise over a road

Find the Lowest Down Payment

on minimum limits car insurance.

Please enter a ZIP Code.
Retrieve a Quote
Retrieve a Quote