Illinois Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants you to get the Illinois car insurance limits that you need to get on the road fast. Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Illinois’s car insurance laws so that you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Illinois Car Insurance Laws
According to the Illinois Secretary of State’s office, all vehicle owners are required to comply with the mandatory insurance law and maintain the following minimum auto insurance limits for their vehicles:
- $20,000 – bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
- $40,000 – bodily injury or death of more than one person in an accident
- $15,000 – damage to property of another person
- $20,000 – uninsured motorist bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
- $40,000 – uninsured motorist bodily injury or death of more than one person in an accident
Be sure to always have your insurance card in your vehicle and be prepared to show it to a law enforcement officer upon request.
Illinois Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Illinois penalties for driving without car insurance include fines and license suspension. To make sure all drivers are in compliance with the law, enforcement is accomplished through a random questionnaire sampling process and the issuance of traffic tickets.
If the computer randomly selects your vehicle, you will receive a questionnaire asking for the name of your auto insurance company and policy number. If you do not have auto insurance or fail to return the questionnaire with the requested information, your license plates will be suspended.
If you are stopped for a traffic violation or involved in an accident, a law enforcement officer may issue a traffic citation if you are unable to provide proof of insurance. If convicted, your license plates will be suspended and you will face the following fines:
- Minimum $500 fine for driving uninsured
- Minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the license plates are suspended for a previous insurance violation
Illinois DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
In the state of Illinois, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense that is classified as a violent crime. If you are convicted of a DUI, the offense will permanently remain on your driving record. If you are arrested and/or convicted, you may lose your driving privileges and vehicle registration, pay fines ranging from $500 to $25,000 or face imprisonment. When driving in Illinois, you automatically consent to submit to certain tests under the Implied Consent Law. These can include breath, blood and/or urine tests to determine if you were drinking or using any other drug or intoxicating compound before or while driving.
Below are some of the penalties for an Illinois DUI:
- Failing Chemical Testing
- First offense: Suspension of driving privileges for 6 months
- Second or subsequent offense within 5 years: Suspension of driving privileges for 1 year
- Refusing to Submit to Chemical Testing
- First offense: Suspension of driving privileges for 12 months
- Second or subsequent offense: Suspension of driving privileges for 3 years
- Revocation of Driving Privileges
- First conviction: Minimum one-year revocation
- Second conviction within 20 years: Minimum five-year revocation
- Third conviction: Minimum 10-year revocation
- Fourth and subsequent conviction: Lifetime revocation
Illinois drivers over the age of 21 are considered driving under the influence if their Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.08. A person convicted of DUI with a BAC of .16 percent or more, or DUI while transporting a child under age 16, is subject to enhanced penalties, including additional fines, community service and jail time.
For more information of Illinois’s DUI/DWI laws and penalties, check out the 2013 Illinois DUI Fact Book.
Illinois Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
Illinois’s texting while driving law prohibits sending or reading text messages while driving. This law applies to all drivers of all ages. The Illinois cell phone driving law prohibits the use of cellphones in construction/road maintenance zones and school zones. Local municipalities may govern whether hands-free or hand-held cellphone use is permitted, regardless of the location or the driver’s age. Fines can range from $75 for a first offense to $150 for subsequent offenses.
Illinois drivers are only allowed to text message if they are:
- Reporting an emergency situation
- Using the device hands-free or in voice-activated mode
- Parked on the shoulder of a roadway
- Stopped due to normal traffic being obstructed and the vehicle is in neutral or park
Illinois SR-22 Insurance Documents
Illinois SR-22 insurance documents are required to be filed by drivers as proof of financial responsibility if any of the following apply:
- You receive an unsatisfied court judgment related to a crash.
- You are suspended under the Safety Responsibility Law due to an uninsured crash.
- You receive court supervision for a mandatory insurance violation.
- You have been convicted of three or more mandatory insurance violations.
- You are convicted of a DUI.
Once filed, the SR-22 insurance document must be maintained for 36 months or 3 years. The SR-22 form is filed directly with the Secretary of State by your insurer. Failure to renew insurance coverage or cancellation of insurance will result in suspension of a driver’s license.
Affordable Car Insurance in Illinois
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in Illinois, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent