Indiana Car Insurance
Hey Indiana! Need cheap car insurance? Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants to help you get the cheap car insurance limits you need so that you can get on the road fast. But before you go out to buy car insurance from Good2Go Auto Insurance, make sure you know Indiana’s laws regarding minimum limits so that you are meeting the minimum legal requirements.
Indiana Car Insurance Laws
In the state of Indiana, you are required to provide proof of insurance when involved in an accident or traffic violation, according to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). You must submit this proof electronically to the BMV by your insurance provider.
Indiana car insurance laws require you to have a liability policy that includes coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists. Below are the minimum liability limits you will need:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more persons
- $25,000 for property damage
Driving without auto liability insurance is against the law in Indiana. If you decide to drive without car insurance in Indiana, the penalties for driving uninsured include a 90-day suspension of your driving privileges, or a one-year suspension for repeat violations within a three-year period. In order to prove your financial responsibility and reinstate your driving privileges, uninsured drivers need to file a SR-22 (also called a Certificate of Compliance). You must also pay a reinstatement fee of either: $150, $225, or $300 depending on the subsequence of suspensions.
You can avoid the fines and the fees by getting the proper state minimum coverage. Don’t start your engine without it.
Indiana DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
- Court costs and fees in excess of $300.
- Jail sentence of up to one year.
- Fines up to $5,000.
- License suspension up to two (2) years
- Jail sentence up to three years, and/or community service.
- Fines up to $10,000.
- License suspension at least 180 days and up to two (2) years.
- Jail sentence for a minimum of 10 days and up to three years, and/or community service.
- Fines up to $10,000.
- License suspension at least one year and up to 10 years.
Indiana Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Indiana currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving.
Indiana SR-22 Insurance Documents
Indiana SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for five years with the BMV, showing proof of financial responsibility.
Cheap Car Insurance in Indiana
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Indiana, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹ Start Your Free Indiana Quote Online.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent