Iowa Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Iowans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Iowa’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Iowa Car Insurance Laws
According to the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowans do not specifically need to buy car insurance, however drivers who are in an accident (or whose license is suspended or revoked), must show proof of financial responsibility of have their driving and registration privileges suspended. The easiest way to show financial responsibility is through an insurance policy. The minimum policy requirements are as follows:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Iowa Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If an Iowan driver does not have insurance or cannot produce proof of financial responsibility after causing personal injury or damages exceeding $1,000 in a car accident, the driver’s license and vehicle registration will be suspended, and the driver will need to obtain an insurance policy to revive them, or post a bond in excess of $50,000.
Iowa DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Iowa DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered while intoxicated) which is the same as a DUI in other states. Iowa DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are convicted of drunk driving in Iowa for your first DUI offense, you face an administrative license suspension of one hundred and eighty (180) days, a minimum of 2 days jail time up to 1 year jail time, and fines of at least $625 up to over $1,500. Refusals to submit to chemical testing under Iowa’s implied consent laws result in mandatory license revocation of one year.
Iowa Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Iowa currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Iowa also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers, with $30, or up to $1,000 if texting causes an accident.
Iowa SR-22 Insurance Documents
Iowa SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DoT, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Iowa for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Iowa
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Hawkeye State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent