Kansas Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Kansans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Kansas’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Kansas Car Insurance Laws
According to the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles, Kansas’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Kansas vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and
- $10,000 per accident for property damage.
Kansas Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Kansas, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Kansas include: (a) a SR-22 filing for a period of twelve (12) consecutive months; fines of $300 to $1,000.
Kansas DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Kansas DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. A first offense carries a punishment of 48 hours of mandatory imprisonment or 100 hours of community service, plus fines of at least $500 and a suspension of driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days. A second offense increases punishment to 90 days to one-year imprisonment, plus fines of at least $1,000 and a suspension of driving privileges for one year.
Kansas Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Kansas currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Kansas also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers, and carries a fine of $60.
Kansas SR-22 Insurance Documents
Kansas SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Kansas for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Sunflower State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent