Maryland Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Marylanders find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹. Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Maryland’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Maryland Car Insurance Laws
According to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, Maryland’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Maryland vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $60,000 minimum in any one accident;
- $15,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident, and;
- $30,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per individual and $60,000 in any one accident.
Maryland Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Maryland, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Maryland include:
- Loss of license plates and vehicle registration privileges;
- Fines of at least $175.
Maryland DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Maryland DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Maryland DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. A DUI can carry a penalty of 1 year of incarceration or $1,000 fine or both; 2 years and $2000 for a second offense, and 3 years and $3000 for a third offense.
Maryland Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws
The state of Maryland has a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. Maryland also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Fines for violating Maryland’s cell phone laws range from $40 to $100.
Maryland SR-22 Insurance Documents
Maryland SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Maryland for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Affordable Car Insurance in Maryland
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in the Old Line State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent