Massachusetts Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Bay Staters find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹. Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Massachusetts’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your Commonwealth.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws
According to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, Massachusetts’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Massachusetts vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets Commonwealth minimum requirements for:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $40,000 in any one accident;
- $8,000 for bodily injury to individuals in any one accident; and
- $5,000 for property damage in any one accident.
Massachusetts Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Massachusetts include: a of $500 to $5,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year.
Massachusetts DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Massachusetts DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Massachusetts DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a first offense DUI are a fine of $500 to $5,000, up to two and one-half years in jail, and loss of licensure for one year. Penalties for a second offense are a fine of $600 to $10,000, 60 days to two and one-half years in jail, and loss of licensure for two year.
Massachusetts Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers, however some local municipalities do. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Massachusetts also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers.
Massachusetts SR-22 Insurance Documents
Massachusetts SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Affordable Car Insurance in Massachusetts
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in the Commonwealth, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent