Michigan Car Insurance
From the top of the U.P. to Traverse City to Kalamazoo – and we can’t forget the Motor City – we’re happy to help you and fellow Michiganders find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Michigan’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Michigan Car Insurance Laws
According to the Michigan Secretary of State, Michigan’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Michigan vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $40,000 for any one accident; and
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
Michigan Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Michigan, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Michigan include:
- Fines of $200 – $500;
- Up to 1 year in jail; and
- 30-day driver’s license suspension, or until you can show proof of valid car insurance.
Michigan DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Michigan DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Michigan DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants.
- For a first offense:
- Over 90 days in jail
- Six months licensure suspension
- Up to $1500 in fines and costs
- Up to 180 hours of Community Service
- For a second offense:
- Five days to one year in jail, or 30 to 90 days community service
- One year licensure revocation (no driving at all, no license available)
- Up to $2000 in fines and costs
- Vehicle Immobilization of 3 to 6 months
Michigan Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Michigan currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers, however, the city of Detroit does. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Michigan also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violators can face a fine of $100 for first offenses and $200 for multiple offenders.
Michigan SR-22 Insurance Documents
Michigan SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the Secretary of State, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Michigan for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Michigan
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Great Lakes state, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road in either peninsula for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Insurance, Inc. for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent