Minnesota Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Minnesotans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Minnesota’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Minnesota Car Insurance Laws
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Minnesota’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Minnesota vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $60,000 for any one accident
- $40,000 for personal injury protection in any one accident
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Minnesota Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Minnesota, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Minnesota include: license suspension, up to 90 days in jail and fines of up to $1000.
Minnesota DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Minnesota DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Minnesota law enforcement primarily use the term DWI (Driving While Impaired) which is the same as a DUI in other states. Minnesota DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. In Minnesota a first offense DUI conviction carries fines of up $1,000, license suspension of 90 days to one year, and up to three months in jail. A second offense DUI conviction raises the penalties to up to $3,000 in fines, one year license suspension, and up to a year in jail. A third offense DUI conviction carries permanent licensure revocation unless you complete a court-ordered alcohol treatment plan.
Minnesota Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Minnesota currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Minnesota also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $300.
Minnesota SR-22 Insurance Documents
Minnesota SR-22 insurance documents are not required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance, however, they can be required if you have an SR-22 filing in another state and move to Minnesota. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with your former state, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents with your former state for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Minnesota
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the North Star State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹ Start Your Free Minnesota Quote Online.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent