Mississippi Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants you to get the Mississippi car insurance coverage you need to get on the road fast. But, before you buy insurance, it’s important to know Mississippi’s auto insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Mississippi Car Insurance Laws
According to the Mississippi Insurance Department, the law requires that all drivers must maintain a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage called “liability insurance” and carry an insurance identification card in their vehicles at all times to prove that they have liability insurance. As of January 1, 2006, the minimum auto insurance requirements have increased to:
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per person
If you are a Mississippi state driver, you can fulfill these requirements by showing proof of insurance for the state minimums, making a cash or security deposit equal to the state minimums, or posting a bond for the state minimums. Additional consumer information can be obtained from the Mississippi Insurance Department.
Mississippi Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving without insurance in Mississippi, you may be fined $1,000 and face suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration for (1) up to one year or (2) until you can show proof of financial responsibility. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety may also require that you file proof of financial responsibility, also called an SR-22 filing, before they will lift the suspension.
Mississippi DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Under the state of Mississippi’s drunk driving code, it is illegal for any person to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other substances that impair a person’s ability to drive. It is illegal for an adult age 21 or older to drive their vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) 0.08% or above. If you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to drive a car if you have a BAC of 0.02% or above.
If you are convicted of a DUI, the penalties include:
- Jail time up to 48 hours
- Fines up to $1,000
- License suspension for a minimum of 90 days
- Mandatory completion of an Alcohol Safety Education Program and/or a Victim Impact Panel
Since Mississippi has an implied consent law, if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will automatically be fined and your license will be suspended. A driver convicted of a first offense DUI may qualify for Hardship Driving Privileges after 30 days. For a second offense, drivers may be subject to:
- Jail time for up to one (1) year
- Fines up to $1,500
- Community service for up to one (1) year
- License suspension up to two (2) years
A third DUI conviction is considered a felony and may result in:
- Jail time up to five (5) years
- Fines up to $5,000
- License suspension up to five (5) years
- Vehicle forfeiture
Mississippi Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws
In Mississippi, there is currently no cell phone or texting while driving ban. However, if you have a learner’s permit or an intermediate license, you are prohibited from texting while driving. If you drive a school bus, then you are prohibited by law from using a cell phone while driving. Since cell phone violations for school bus drivers and young drivers are primary offenses in Mississippi, a driver can be pulled over for cell phone violations without committing any other traffic offense.
Mississippi SR-22 Insurance Documents
If your license is suspended, you may need to file an SR-22 document in order to have your license reinstated. An SR-22 provides proof of insurance to the Department of Public Safety. Fortunately, your insurer can electronically file the SR-22 insurance documents directly to the Department of Public Safety when you purchase or renew your auto insurance policy.
Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi
Looking for cheap car insurance in Mississippi? Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
Don’t waste any more time. Start your free Mississippi quote online and drive legal for less.¹ You’ll be glad you did.
¹Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors. Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent