Montana Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Montanans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Montana’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Montana Car Insurance Laws
According to the Montana Motor Vehicle Division, Montana law requires that a motor vehicle operated on public roads be insured by a liability insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum coverage limits:
- $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and subject to the limit for one person;
- $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and
- $10,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
Under Montana law, motorists stopped for a traffic violation or involvement in a motor vehicle collision are required to show proof of insurance to law enforcement, in addition to displaying their driver license and vehicle registration.
Montana Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Montana, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Montana include:
- Fines of up to $500;
- Imprisonment of up to 10 days; and
- Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration.
Montana DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Montana DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Montana DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. The state of Montana employs implied consent laws, with refusals to submit to testing receiving an automatic license suspension of six (6) months.
Penalties for a first offense DUI in Montana are:
- Licensure suspension of 6 months;
- Mandatory minimum jail time of one (7) day to six (6) months; and
- Fines of at least $300 to $1,000.
Penalties for a second offense DUI in Montana are:
- Licensure suspension of 6 months;
- Mandatory minimum jail time of one (1) day to six (6) months;
- Installation of an interlock device; and
- Fines of at least $600 to $1,000.
Montana Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Montana currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use or texting for drivers. However several cities have implemented bans, including Billings, Helena and Missoula.
Montana SR-22 Insurance Documents
Montana SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the MVD, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Montana for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Montana
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Big Sky Country, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent