Nevada Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Nevadans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Nevada’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Nevada Car Insurance Laws
According to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, Nevada’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Nevada vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Nevada Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Nevada, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Nevada include: fines of $500 to $1,200 depending on the length of the lapse, and the requirement to file a SR-22 form.
Nevada DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Nevada DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Nevada law enforcement primarily use the term OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence) which is the same as a DUI in other states. Nevada DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Nevada and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to a fines, an automatic license suspension, and an officer may use “reasonable force” to obtain a blood sample for testing. First offense DUI penalties in Nevada are jail time of two days to six months, fines of $400 to $1,000, and a 90 day license suspension.
Nevada Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
Drivers in Nevada are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) Nevada also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violators could face a fine up to $250.
Nevada SR-22 Insurance Documents
Nevada SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Nevada for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Nevada
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Silver State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Insurance, Inc. for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent