New Hampshire Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow New Hampshirites find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less.¹ Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know New Hampshire’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws
According to the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles, New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not require you to carry Auto Insurance, but you must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident. New Hampshire vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
New Hampshire DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
New Hampshire DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. New Hampshire DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a DUI first offense in New Hampshire are a 10 day minimum jail sentence, fines of up to $750, and 1-2 years of licensure suspension. Refusing to submit to a chemical test for intoxication carries a 180 day licensure suspension.
New Hampshire Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of New Hampshire currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, New Hampshire has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violators could face a fine up to $100.
New Hampshire SR-22 Insurance Documents
New Hampshire SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of New Hampshire for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in New Hampshire
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Granite State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based upon the state where you reside in, what coverages you buy, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent