New Mexico Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow New Mexicans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know New Mexico’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
New Mexico Car Insurance Laws
According to the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division, New Mexico’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. New Mexico vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
New Mexico Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of New Mexico, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in New Mexico include: a fine of $300, imprisonment of up to 90 days, and potential suspension of registration.
New Mexico DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
New Mexico DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. New Mexico DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. First-time offenders of a DUI face:
- A two-year license suspension;
- Up to a year in jail, with 96 hours mandatory; and
- Up to a $1,000 fine.
New Mexico Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of New Mexico currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers, however, local municipalities may have such a ban. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. New Mexico also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violators could face a fine up to $50.
New Mexico SR-22 Insurance Documents
New Mexico does not require an SR-22. However if you have an SR-22 filing in another state, and move to New Mexico, you must maintain your SR22 in the state where it is required. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with your former state, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents with your former state for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in New Mexico
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Land of Enchantment, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
¹Consult with an attorney to determine whether it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent