New York Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow New Yorkers find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know New York’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
New York Car Insurance Laws
According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, New York’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. New York vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $15,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
New York Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of New York, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in New York include: fines and penalties of up to $2,250, a suspension of license of up to 90 days, and imprisonment of up to 15 days.
New York DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
New York DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. New York DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in New York and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to an automatic license suspension for a first offense for up to one year. First time DUI offenders face penalties of up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a minimum of six months licensure suspension.
New York Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws
The state of New York has a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. New York also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violators face fines of $50-$150 for a first offense, up to $400 for multiple offenses.
New York SR-22 Insurance Documents
New York does not require an SR-22 for DUI offenses. However if you have an SR-22 filing in another state, and move to New York you must maintain your SR22 in the state where it is required. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with your former state, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents with your former state for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in New York
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Empire State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less in a New York minute.¹
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent