North Carolina Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow North Carolinians find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know North Carolina’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
North Carolina Car Insurance Laws
According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation, North Carolina’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. North Carolina vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $60,000 for any one accident; and
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
North Carolina Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of North Carolina, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in North Carolina include: fines and fees of up to $100, up to 45 days of probation and suspension of registration for up to 30 days.
North Carolina DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
North Carolina DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. North Carolina DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Per the DOT, Penalties for a first conviction of DUI may include:
- Mandatory revocation of your driver license for one year.
- Once your driver license is restored, your legal alcohol concentration will be lowered to 0.04 for three years.
- Minimum punishment is a fine up to $200 and a minimum 24 hours imprisonment, 24 hours community service, or any combination of these.
- Maximum punishment is a fine up to $4,000 and imprisonment of no less than 30 days or more than 24 months.
North Carolina Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of North Carolina currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. North Carolina also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine of at least $100.
North Carolina SR-22 Insurance Documents
North Carolina does not require an SR-22 for DUI offenses. However if you have an SR-22 filing in another state, and move to North Carolina you must maintain your SR22 in the state where it is required. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with your former state, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents with your former state for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in North Carolina
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Tar Heel State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent