North Dakota Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow North Dakotans find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know North Dakota’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
North Dakota Car Insurance Laws
According to the North Dakota Department of Transportation, North Dakota’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. North Dakota vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident;
- $30,000 for personal injury protection; and
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
North Dakota Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of North Dakota, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in North Dakota include: fines of $150 to $1,000 and suspension of license.
North Dakota DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
North Dakota DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. North Dakota DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a first offense DUI in North Dakota include fines of up to $750 and a license suspension of up to 180 days. Penalties for a second offense include up to 10 days jail time, fines of up to $100 and a one year licensure suspension.
North Dakota Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of North Dakota currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. North Dakota also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $100.
North Dakota SR-22 Insurance Documents
North Dakota SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the NDDOT, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of North Dakota for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in North Dakota
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Peace Garden State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent