Ohio Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants you to get the Ohio car insurance limits you need to get on the road fast. But, before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Ohio’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Ohio Car Insurance Laws
According to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Ohio’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Ohio vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Ohio Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Ohio include: suspension of driving privileges, fines and getting your vehicle towed. In addition, you are responsible for paying towing and storage fees if your car is towed. Other penalties for driving uninsured in the state of Ohio are:
- Loss of driving privileges for a maximum of 2 years
- Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration
- Payment of reinstatement fees ranging from $150 to $650
- Immobilization of the vehicle and confiscation of plates for 30 to 60 days for violating a financial responsibility suspension
- Third and subsequent offenses could result in vehicle forfeiture and a 5-year suspension of vehicle registrations
Ohio DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Ohio DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Ohio law enforcement primarily use the term OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence) which is the same as a DUI in other states. Ohio DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Ohio and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to a fine of $250-$1,000 and automatic license suspension for a first offense for up to one year. You could also receive a minimum of three days in jail and pay a reinstatement fee of $450.
Ohio Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Ohio currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Violators can be fined $150 and have their license suspended for 60 days for a first offense. Penalties for multiple offenses include a $300 fine and license suspension for one year. Ohio also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $150.
Ohio SR-22 Insurance Documents
Ohio SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Ohio for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Affordable Car Insurance in Ohio
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in Ohio, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent