Oregon Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants you to get the Oregon car insurance limits you need to get on the road. Before you buy insurance, it’s important to know Oregon’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Oregon Car Insurance Laws
According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, Oregon car insurance laws require that all drivers present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Oregon vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
– Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for injuries to others
– Property damage liability coverage of at least $20,000 per accident
– Personal injury protection of $15,000 per person
– Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
Oregon Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Oregon, penalties for driving without car insurance range from suspension of driving privileges, fines and getting your vehicle towed. You are responsible for paying towing and storage fees if your car is towed. If you are caught driving uninsured and are involved in an accident, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year.
Oregon DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Oregon DUI laws state that drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Oregon DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Oregon and refuse to take a chemical test, you will be subject to a fine of $500-$1,000 and automatic license suspension for a first offense. You could also receive a minimum of two days in jail. Additional penalties for a first offense DUI in Oregon are:
– Community service up to 80 hours
– Minimum fine of $2,000 for driving with a BAC of .15 or above
– Mandatory use of an ignition Interlock Device for 1 year after suspension
– Complete drug and/or alcohol treatment program
For more information on Oregon DUI/DWI laws and penalties, visit the state’s page.
Oregon Cell Phone and Texting While Driving Laws
On January 1, 2010, Oregon enacted a cell phone driving law. The law prohibits drivers from talking or texting on hand-held mobile communication devices. It is a class D traffic violation and a primary offense, meaning an officer can pull you over and ticket you for using a cell phone without any other traffic violation taking place. The minimum fine is $110.
Oregon SR-22 Insurance Documents
Oregon SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. You may need to file an SR-22 form for 3 years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted.
Affordable Car Insurance in Oregon
If you are looking for affordable car insurance in Oregon, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.¹
Get a free Oregon car insurance quote today and drive legal for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"Good2Go Auto Insurance customer service representatives are the best. I had a small fender-bender, and with their help, I received a check in just a few days. I had my car repaired and was back on the road in no time."
- Linda from New Jersey