Rhode Island Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Rhode Islanders find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Rhode Island’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Laws
According to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles, Rhode Island’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Rhode Island vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Rhode Island Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Rhode Island, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Rhode Island include: fines of up to $500 and suspension of license/registration for up to 3 months for the first offense, and fines up to $1,000 and suspension of license/registration for up to 12 months for subsequent offenses.
Rhode Island DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Rhode Island DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Rhode Island DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for DUIs in Rhode Island include jail time of up to a year, fines of up to $500 and license suspension of up to 18 months for a first offense, and jail of up to 5 years, fines up to $5,000 and over 2 years of license suspension for multiple offenses.
Rhode Island Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Rhode Island currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Rhode Island also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $125.
Rhode Island SR-22 Insurance Documents
Rhode Island SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Rhode Island for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Rhode Island
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Ocean State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent