South Carolina Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants you to get the South Carolina car insurance coverage you need to get on the road. Before you buy insurance, it’s important to know South Carolina’s insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
South Carolina Car Insurance Laws
South Carolina car insurance law requires you to have minimum limits auto insurance known as “liability insurance” for each vehicle you own and register in the state, according to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV). In order to receive your driver’s license and register your vehicle, you must provide proof of insurance.
The minimum liability limits are:
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person
- $50,000 for injury or death to more than one person
- $25,000 for damage to property
You must maintain proof of insurance for your vehicle at all times. If you are pulled over by a police officer, you may be asked for your insurance ID card. Good2Go mails you a valid ID card for each vehicle insured when you purchase or renew your insurance policy.
According to the South Carolina Department of Insurance, you also are required to purchase uninsured motorist coverage which pays for injuries or damage by a hit-and-run or a driver who does not have auto insurance.
South Carolina Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving without insurance, you will immediately be issued a ticket, and possibly arrested. Your driving privileges, license plate and vehicle registration may be suspended and you may have to pay up to a $550 reinstatement fee. You will also have to pay $5 for each day your vehicle was uninsured, up to $200, according to the SCDMV. If you do not obtain insurance within 20 business days of contacting the SCDMV, your license and/or vehicle registration may be suspended indefinitely.
South Carolina DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
In the state of South Carolina, it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol and other substances. The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) for a DUI is 0.08% for drivers age 21 and older, and 0.02% for drivers under age 21. DUI fines and penalties are based on the BAC of the driver when arrested. Penalties for a DUI can result in community service, fines and jail time.
- BAC less than 0.10: you are subject to license suspension of 6 months, a $400 fine, jail time of 48 hours up to 30 days, and/or 48 hours of community service
- BAC between 0.10 and 0.16: you are subject to a fine of $500, jail time of 72 hours to 30 days, and/or 72 hours of community service
- BAC greater than 0.16: you are subject to a fine of $1,000, jail time of 30-90 days, and/or 30 days of community service
Subsequent offenses may require the use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you have four or more DUI convictions, this may result in permanent revocation of your driver’s license and jail time of 1 to 7 years.
South Carolina has an implied consent law, which means if you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension for at least 6 months.
South Carolina SR-22 Insurance Documents
The South Carolina DMV requires SR-22 insurance documents to be filed as proof of financial responsibility when your driver’s license is reinstated. Your driver’s license may have been suspended due to a DUI, driving while your license was suspended, driving uninsured or from another violation. The DMV requires an SR-22 for three years after your suspension was lifted even if you don’t own a vehicle. It is also required during the 6-month period when you are using a provisional driver’s license. Your insurer can electronically file the SR-22 insurance documents directly to the DMV when you purchase or renew your auto insurance policy.
Cheap Car Insurance in South Carolina
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in South Carolina, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less¹.
Start Your Free South Carolina Quote Online. You’ll be happy you did.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent