Utah Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Utahns find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Utah’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Utah Car Insurance Laws
According to the Utah Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Utah’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Utah vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident;
- $65,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident;
- $15,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident; and
- Or alternatively, $80,000 total for injury and property damage.
Utah Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Utah, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Utah include: suspension of driving privileges, fines of $400-$1,000 and getting your vehicle towed. In addition, you are responsible for paying towing and storage fees if your car is towed.
Utah DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Utah DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Utah DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a first offense DUI in Utah include a fine of at least $700, 48 hours minimum in jail, and 120 days of licensure suspension. Penalties for a subsequent DUIs in Utah as can include a fine of at least $1,500, at least 2 months in jail and 2 years of licensure suspension.
Utah Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Utah currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, novice drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in any manner (talking, texting, playing games, etc.) while driving. Utah also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a serious crime in Utah and violators can face up to three months in jail and up to a $750 fine.
Utah SR-22 Insurance Documents
Utah SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Utah for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Utah
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Beehive State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Prices vary based upon what state you’re in, what coverages you buy and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent