Virginia Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance®wants to get you the Virginia car insurance coverage you need so you can get on the road fast. But, before you buy cheap insurance, it’s important for you to know Virginia’s car insurance laws governing minimum limits plans so that you’re meeting the legal automobile requirements.
Virginia Car Insurance Laws
In order to buy license plates or decals, Virginia car insurance laws require drivers to certify that their vehicle is covered by the minimum insurance or they must pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee of $500, according to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. The required minimum coverage for auto insurance in Virginia includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage
Virginia Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Virginia’s penalties for driving uninsured include suspension of driving and vehicle registration privileges, a $500 statutory fee and a reinstatement fee. The driver must also maintain proof of financial responsibility for three years upon suspension.
Virginia DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is tough on drunk and drugged drivers. If you are operating a motor vehicle, boat or water craft with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) above 0.08, you are considered driving under the influence. Virginia’s DUI penalties for a first offense conviction are a mandatory $250 fine and a driver’s license revocation for one year. If your BAC is above 0.20 for a first time DUI offense, you have to spend a mandatory 10 days in jail in addition to other penalties such as ignition interlock devices. For more information on Virginia’s DUI/DWI laws and penalties, check out their state page.
Virginia Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
There is no hand-held ban in Virginia, but it is illegal for school bus drivers to talk on a cell phone while driving. It is illegal for all drivers in the state of Virginia to text while driving. The penalty for texting while driving is a $20 fine and it is considered a secondary offense meaning the police can only write a ticket if the driver is stopped for another violation.
Virginia SR-22 Insurance Documents
In order for a driver in the state of Virginia to have their license and registration reinstated, he or she may be required to file a SR-22 insurance document to prove to the DMV that they are financially responsible for three years.
Cheap Car Insurance in Virginia
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Virginia, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road fast.¹
¹Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent