Washington Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance® wants to get you cheap car insurance coverage in Washington so that you can get on the road for less. But, it’s important you know Washington’s car insurance laws governing minimum limits plans so you can make sure you’re meeting the minimum legal requirements.
Washington Car Insurance Laws
Washington state law requires all drivers to carry auto liability insurance and proof that you have insurance. Your proof of insurance card shows that either you or your vehicle is covered by liability insurance. According to the Washington State Department of Licensing, drivers are required to have the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 for injuries or death to another person
- $50,000 for injuries or death to all other people
- $10,000 for damage to another person’s property
Washington Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance
If you are stopped by a police officer, you must show proof of auto insurance. When you start or renew your auto policy, you will receive a proof of insurance card. If you do not have proof of insurance, you will receive a traffic infraction and will be subject to a fine of at least $450. Washington penalties for driving without car insurance may also include having your driver’s license suspended, meaning you will not be able to operate or drive a motor vehicle until your license has been reinstated.
Washington DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Driving under the influence (DUI) refers to operating a vehicle while affected by alcohol, drugs, or both. Washington’s DUI penalties may include a suspension of your driver’s license, fines and even jail time. If you are arrested for a DUI, your license can be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, depending on any prior offenses and the severity of the accident. If you are convicted of a DUI in court, you may get an Ignition Interlock Driver License (IIL) that will allow you to drive your vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for the period of your suspension or revocation. According to the Washington State Department of Licensing, you may be charged with a DUI if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) falls into one of the levels below:
- 0.08 or higher for adults (21 and over)
- 0.04 or higher for commercial vehicle drivers
- 0.02 or higher for minors (under 21)
In addition, if you are convicted of a first offense DUI in the state of Washington, you may face:
- Jail time from 24 hours to one year, or electronic home monitoring for 15 days
- Jail time from two days to one year if BAC is 0.15 or above or, electronic home monitoring for 30 days
- Fines from $865.50 to $5,000
- Mandatory attendance at alcohol/drug education classes
Washington Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws
In the state of Washington, talking or sending text messages while holding a wireless device carries a fine of $124. Once treated as a secondary traffic offense, Washington cell phone laws have changed to make texting while driving a primary offense since June 2010. However, hands-free devices are acceptable to use while behind the wheel.
Washington SR-22 Insurance Documents
Washington SR-22 insurance documents are required by anyone who has been convicted of or forfeited bail for certain offenses, failed to pay judgments, or has driven/owned a vehicle involved in an accident. The SR-22 insurance document is a form that proves financial responsibility for any damages you may cause while driving. Your insurer can electronically file your SR-22 insurance forms quickly and provide proof to the Washington State Department of Licensing that you are financially responsible and the required minimum auto insurance coverage.
Cheap Car Insurance in Washington
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Washington, Good2Go Auto Insurance may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
Start Your Free Washington Quote Online. We’ll get you driving legal for less.¹
¹Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors. Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state.
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"Good2Go Auto Insurance customer service representatives are the best. I had a small fender-bender, and with their help, I received a check in just a few days. I had my car repaired and was back on the road in no time."
- Linda from New Jersey