West Virginia Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow West Virginians find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know West Virginia’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
West Virginia Car Insurance Laws
According to the West Virginia Department of Transportation, West Virginia’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. West Virginia vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $40,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
West Virginia Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of West Virginia, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in West Virginia include: fines of $200 to $5,000, imprisonment of 15 days to 1 year, and suspension of licensure.
West Virginia DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
West Virginia DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. West Virginia DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a first offense DUI in West Virginia include a fine up to $1,000, up to 6 months in jail and 15 to 45 days of licensure suspension. Penalties for subsequent DUIs in West Virginia can include a fine of $5,000, up to 3 years in jail and up to a year of licensure suspension.
West Virginia Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of West Virginia currently has a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. West Virginia also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. Violation of the law is punishable by a fine of $25 for a first offense, $50 for a second offense, and $75 for a third offense.
West Virginia SR-22 Insurance Documents
West Virginia SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DoT, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of West Virginia for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Mountain State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors
Help? Call 855-MINIMO1 (855-646-4661) Our support team is available 24/7
"I took advantage of the cell phone safety discount and had the text blocking device installed in my son’s car. I feel much better knowing he can’t use his cell phone while driving. Thanks Good2Go Auto Insurance, for helping to keep my son, and other drivers, safe."
- A grateful parent