Wisconsin Car Insurance
We’re happy to help you and fellow Wisconsinites find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Wisconsin’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.
Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws
According to the Wisconsin Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Wisconsin’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Wisconsin vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements for:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Wisconsin Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In the state of Wisconsin, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Wisconsin include: suspension of driving privileges, fines of up to $500 and getting your vehicle towed. In addition, you are responsible for paying towing and storage fees if your car is towed.
Wisconsin DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Wisconsin DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Wisconsin DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants. Penalties for a first offense DUI in Wisconsin include a fine up to $1,100, 72 to 180 days in jail and 90 days to 1 year of licensure suspension. Penalties for a subsequent DUIs in Wisconsin can include a fine up to $10,000, 6 months to 6 years in jail and up to 3 years of licensure suspension.
Wisconsin Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The state of Wisconsin currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. Wisconsin also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers. It is a minor misdemeanor and violators could face a fine up to $800.
Wisconsin SR-22 Insurance Documents
Wisconsin SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Wisconsin for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.
Cheap Car Insurance in Wisconsin
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Badger State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"Good2Go Auto Insurance customer service representatives are the best. I had a small fender-bender, and with their help, I received a check in just a few days. I had my car repaired and was back on the road in no time."
- Linda from New Jersey