Pennsylvania Car Insurance
Whether you’re a new Pennsylvania resident or lifelong inhabitant, we’re happy to help you and fellow Pennsylvanians find affordable car insurance. At Good2Go Auto Insurance,® we’re dedicated to keeping you driving legal for less¹.
Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Pennsylvania’s car insurance laws, including minimum limits, so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state. Ready to start now? Get your free Pennsylvania car insurance quote or call us at 855-646-4661.
Pennsylvania Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
According to PennDOT, Pennsylvania state law requires that all PA drivers maintain vehicle liability insurance on all registered vehicles. The state requires drivers to have the following levels of coverage:
- $5,000 for damage to the property of another person
- $15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident
- $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
Drivers may also purchase additional coverage, like uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, but these are not required by the state.
Pennsylvania Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
Drivers who do not have car insurance in Pennsylvania can face strong penalties. If you are found operating a vehicle without insurance coverage in PA, or during a lapse in coverage, you could have your license suspended for three months, your vehicle impounded, and face a $300 fine. You must also pay a $50 restoration fee to restore your registration and driver’s license.
Pennsylvania DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Pennsylvania DUI penalties may include suspension of your driver’s license & registration, hefty fines, alcohol highway safety school, mandatory treatment, installation of an ignition interlocking device, and even jail time. In the state of Pennsylvania, the legal limit of alcohol is a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of 0.08. There are three levels of DUI:
- General Impairment (0.08 – 0.99 BAC)
- High BAC (0.10 – 0.159 BAC)
- Highest BAC (0.16 and higher BAC)
Pennsylvania DUI penalties are determined by a combination of these three levels of DUI and prior DUI offenses. If you have no prior DUI offenses, but are generally impaired, you could face a $300 fine, attend alcohol highway school, and have up to 6 months of probation. Multiple DUI/DWI offenses can result in a 12 month license suspension, a maximum $5,000 fine, and up to 2 years in prison. For more information on Pennsylvania’s DUI/DWI penalties, check out PennDOT‘s website.
Pennsylvania Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
The Pennsylvania Anti-Text Law was put into effect in March 2012 and prohibits any driver from using any wireless device to send, read or write text messages or emails while a vehicle is in motion. The driving while texting penalty in Pennsylvania is a primary offense which means you will be pulled over and may be subject to a $50 fine.
Pennsylvania SR-22 Insurance Documents
Pennsylvania SR-22 insurance forms proving a driver’s financial responsibility may only be required for those moving to Pennsylvania from other states. Current drivers in the state are not required to file Pennsylvania SR-22 insurance forms.
Cheap Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in the Keystone State, Good2Go Auto Insurance can help. We feature low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less. Start your free Pennsylvania car insurance quote.
¹Consult with an attorney to see if it is illegal to drive without insurance in your state. Quote times on partner sites may vary. Prices vary based on the state where you reside, the coverage limits you purchase, and other underwriting factors.
Help? Call 855-646-4661 Our support team is available 24/7
"Good2Go Auto Insurance customer service representatives are the best. I had a small fender-bender, and with their help, I received a check in just a few days. I had my car repaired and was back on the road in no time."
- Linda from New Jersey